MY SOCIAL CAPITAL

6 12 2009

As I visual learner I often understand concepts better if they are depicted in pictures and visual represantations, in addition to text.  I see my social capital, as it stands in my life right now (November, 2009) as a circular relationship between many factors.  The grey oval on the right indicated that these four themes interconnect throughout the circle.

My family: A grounding in my heritage, emotional support network, helped define my morals, passing of information (history, stories, learning), trust and security, and a sense of belonging

My school: Royal Roads University.   My education: Bachelor of Environmental Science: encompassing a team-based learning cohort, faculty advisors, and university network of diverse learners.  Provides resources (knowledge, support, facilities), encourges the participation in sustainability initiatives and working together to achieve common goals.

My Community: Victoria, BC, and previously Canmore, AB. Volunteer for Parks Canada, involvement in recreational activities, and social clubs (rock climbing, yoga, Alpine Club Canada).  Security, resources and serviced provided by the local municipality and federal government.  Feeling of connection and safety in smaller community of Sidney growing up: involved in multiple sports  and clubs.  Feeling of closeness to my old neighbours, some of which I have known for 20 years.

My Friends: My support network, social connections in my community, personal enjoyment, positivity, engagement.  I have the opportunity to meet new people and make new friends and connections on a daily basis at school, at the climbing gym,  in coffee shops, at volunteer activities.

What Affects my Social Capital?

  • vested interests: a “we” community mentality
  • Shared meaning: feelings of equality, and respect for the value of every individual
  • Trust: security, understanding, equality
  • Connection: participation, linking ideas, sharing resources, sharing cultural differences
  • Access to resources: healthcare, education, security, financial support, food, water, shelter
  • A sense of belonging: feeling of importance in community, feeling connected to the land and people, joining clubs
  • A voice: participation in informed decision making, freedom to seek information and voice concerns
  • Participation in the community: actively making changes, volunteer, clubs, cooperation
  • Participation in recreation: connection to nature, health, sense of belonging to the land, team building, enjoying beauty of the landscape

References

Connect With Others, Build Trust, Get Involved: http://www.bettertogether.org/

Chris Ling: Royal Roads University, ENSC 301 Sustainable Development Series, In-class Lectures

Dauncey, G.  The Glorious Neighbourhood.  Posted March 7, 2009.  Retrieved November 2009 from: http://www.blog.earthfuture.com/search/label/community

Grootaert, C. 1998. Social Capital: The Missing Link? Social Capital. Initiative Working Paper No. 3. Washington, DC: World Bank. 34 pp.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

